Let’s talk about Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

just my thoughts
4 min readFeb 22, 2021

--

This is going to contain spoilers of Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso, so if you’re not comfortable with spoilers don’t read it.

The first time I watched this anime, it didn’t destroyed me, it made me cry but it didn’t hit me as hard as I did later on my life. I don’t really understand the reason it didn’t hit me that hard, because nowadays I cry from just remembering the anime.

I rewatched the anime quite a few times, and each time I watched it touched me in a different way. The first time the death of Kaori hit me the hardest throughout the anime. At the time I truly belived she was going to make it, that the power of being the protagonist love would make it through but at the end it didn’t, and for me that was my first time watching something without a “happy ending”, something was somehow real, in real life that would always be one of the things that can happen to people, but in anime for me it was different, it needed to be a happy ending, but it wasn’t. It was life as it is, and it really showed me that most of the times, things will not go as we planned.

The second time I watched the show what hit me the most wasn’t the end but instead was the realationship between Kousei (protagonist) and his mom. I think like most people at first I hated her but the second time I watched it was payed more attention to it, it became clear what her intentions were. I remember watching it with my mom once and I asked her what she think about Kousei’s mom, and she replyed that she understood her, that she wasn’t a monster, she was just afraid of leaving her only son behind to this cruel world without giving him anything. The only thing she could do to her son was raise him as the best pianist she could so he would be able to survive by himself. I cried SO much at the episode he plays “Love’s sorrow”. Damn that music still hits me pretty hard and will keep doing it. The saddness of loving her son but having to hurt him so he becomes stronger is such a hard one to swallow. But think about it, what she could’ve done? She only had like a few months of life left and it’s kinda impossible to raise a kid in such a short amount of time, she had to be a strict mom, she had to be strong for him.

I think the third time I watched it (yes I watched it a bunch of times) was the love story really. She knew she was just a passanger in his life, but she still decided to barg in and turn his life upside down, even if it meant hurting Kousei. She loved him since always and she knew she would never be able to be with him. Kaori is one of the strongest characters I’ve seen in any animes. Enduring everything and looking forward to a bright future even tho she knew it wouldn’t happen, that her time was very limited. Maybe that’s part of what made her move on, people don’t live their life like it could be the last day of their lives because they are 100% sure it will not be. But what happens if that day really was your last day on earth, would be gone without any regrets? Would you be able to die and say “I lived the best life I could live and I have no regrets”. I definetly wouldn’t. I put so many barriers on my mind, that I can’t do this because of someone or something, but deep inside I know that’s not true. I know that I’m not doing everything I can for the things I want to accomplish and I wounder, if I had a time limit here, would I be running to reach the things I want? Or would I be like “Nah I’m going to die anyways, why even try?” I hope it would be the first option. We are such werid creatures, when we have time we want to do it later but when we don’t we tend to start trying to move, but most of the times it is already too late.

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso has taught me so many things and made me cry so much that I’ll never forget it. Anime had a huge impact in my life, the way I think, the things I like, the dreams I have. This anime showed me that life is too short to be procastinating, life is too short to be putting barriers infront of your path and also too short to bother what the others are going to think about you. If you watched this show tell me what it has taught you, I’d love to read your experiences with it and see you in another time bye.

--

--

just my thoughts
0 Followers

I post my love for the things that I love